Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

Looking for an understanding individual to support in accessing community (Posted 30/11/2018)

My name is Amberley and I live in Portchester. I am seeking a PA who has the following experience:

1.) Experience in helping adults with Aspergers. My condition means that I have certain behavioural traits which you should be comfortable with, including;

A.) Rigidity in thoughts and plans
B.) Difficulty processing sudden changes
C.) Can become intensely interested in certain ideas and behaviours
D.) Can struggle with hitting the right social 'tone'

2.) Experience in helping adults with mental health issues. Recently, I have had episodes of feeling low and have threatened to take my own life on a number of occasions. Thankfully, I do not feel like this anymore but my PA should expect the following;

A.) Days where I am very withdrawn and untalkative
B.) Days where my anxiety makes it hard to do the things which I had planned or hoped to do
C.) Days where I am slightly difficult and try to control and push back against the people closest to me

I hope that me being upfront about my conditions has not put you off! I just want to make sure any potential PA really understands me and my needs. However, I would also like to state that the above is me on my worst days. The majority of the time I am a very kind, caring person who is loyal and affectionate to those who I know well and trust.

I would like a PA who could help me do the following things;

1.) Help me access the community and find social clubs and activities which resonate with me. Something which has appealed to me recently is pottery

2.) Help me out when I am feeling low, keep me company and keep focused

3.) Help me find an appropriate volunteering opportunity, I love looking after young kids and would be interested in helping out at a nursery.

I would like to add that due to my sensitivity to smells (linked to my Aspergers) I will only consider non -smokers for this role.

I look forward to receiving your applications :)

Genders which may apply for this job – Any

Hours per week – 6

Hourly rate – £11

Area – North Portsmouth

Driving licence required – No

Employer has pets – Yes

Employer is smoker – No

Required care experience – Unpaid Experience e.g. caring for family, Unpaid Experience e.g. caring for family, friends or neighbours, Working with people who live with a learning disability

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.