Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

Daily Personal Assistant Required (11/02/2019)

This advertisement is placed with the permission of, and on behalf of, the person who requires a Personal Assistant (PA). Applications will be dealt with by someone who has been nominated by the person requiring the PA.

I am an 87 year young lady living well and independently with vascular dementia looking for a , experienced, carer for ongoing daily assistance to support various aspects of daily living.

The PA looking to apply for this position would be required to have their own vehicle and be able to take me to various activities/outings which will encourage my independence. The applicant should be confident in helping me navigate troublesome areas for mobility such as getting in and out of vehicles and assisting me up/down stairs. An understanding of dementia and/or a previous history as a carer is essential.

It is imperative that the applicant has a light-hearted sense of humour, a vibrant personality and zest for life with the ability to be patient and encouraging with me and my daily frustrations. . I very much enjoy stimulating conversation and would hope my PA will be able to engage in intellectual discussion on such topics as television, film and production (as this is my background) and current and past events. A positive attitude is a must.

If the applicant is technologically knowledgeable, this would be an asset. I wish to relearn how to use my iMac and iPad.

Hours may vary and can be discussed at interview where I will be happy to tell you a bit more about me and my background.

Daily responsibilities will include but are not limited to:
Prompting to take medications.
Making breakfast anytime from 10am onwards.
Making of dinner on occasion or from a frozen, pre-prepared meal.
A weekly or as required grocery shop.
Weekly laundry and ironing.

Genders which may apply for this job – Female

Hours per week – 7 days week / 2- 4 hours per day partially split in the afternoon and evening.

Hourly rate – Hourly rate between £9 - £11 per hour based on experience.

Area – Central Portsmouth

Driving licence required – Yes

Employer has pets – No

Employer is smoker – No

Required care experience – dressing and toileting, Medication training, Mental health, Personal care e.g. one or all of these tasks; washing, Sensory Impairment, Unpaid Experience e.g. caring for family, Unpaid Experience e.g. caring for family, friends or neighbours

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.