Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

LGBT-friendly PA required in North End. (Posted 19.01.2018)

INTRO: My partner and I are both mobility impaired, and live with a housemate who struggles with mental health issues. My partner uses either a stick or a crutch to get around, and I use either a stick or a wheelchair depending. One of us is occasionally bed-bound, this does sometimes happen to us at the same time. We are looking for a PA to help with general household tasks, such as washing up, sweeping, tidying, changing bedsheets and cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms. Also important is being able to put our bins out the day before they're collected. Occasionally, it will involve someone to go to a corner shop for food, or to go to a local chemist to collect prescriptions. We may occasionally ask for help with preparing food, but we'll let you know if we need this. We are generally pretty independent - we will ask you if there is stuff we haven't already negotiated with you that we need, but it is important that our autonomy is respected. We are social people, who enjoy a chat, particularly where there's shared interests, but equally we're happy to let you get on with it if you prefer not to be distracted. ----------------- PETS: We have two cats and a rabbit - we do most of the care for these lot, but someone who could occasionally help with litter trays or similar when we're absolutely unable to would be very useful - this is not mandatory. ----------------- TIMES AND DAYS: We reliably need someone to come on Wednesdays (as this is the day our bins need to go out and we really cannot do this) for at least a few hours, and would prefer a few hours on Mondays and Fridays. Times and numbers of hours are flexible - and if Mondays/Fridays don't work we're open to considering other days. We're understanding if you're unable to make a particular day but appreciate as much notice as possible on that, and where possible, rescheduling to another day as soon as you can. ----------------- WHO SHOULD APPLY: We're a house of trans and LGBT people, often with many visitors who are the same, so would encourage other LGBT people to apply, and would require that you at least be LGBT-friendly. We would prefer someone who identifies as a woman or a nonbinary person for this role. ----------------- NOTES ON EMPLOYMENT: We would prefer someone who is able to be self-employed for this role - I can provide you the specific details of what this entails and it is typically fairly. straightforward. PAYE can be negotiated if required for the right person.

Genders which may apply for this job – Female

Hours per week – Flexible - prefer 6-9 hours/week Monday/Wednesday/Friday.

Hourly rate – 9.50

Area – North Portsmouth

Driving licence required – No

Employer has pets – Yes

Employer is smoker – Yes

Required care experience – Unpaid Experience e.g. caring for family, Unpaid Experience e.g. caring for family, friends or neighbours, Volunteer role

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.